Home » DHS News » Senate moves forward on homeland security nominees

Senate moves forward on homeland security nominees

On Thursday, September 18th, the Senate confirmed (by voice vote) Chip Fulghum to be the new Chief Financial Officer of the Department of Homeland Security, replacing Peggy Sherry who had left the position in 2013 to take on a senior position at the IRS. With his confirmation, and the confirmation earlier this month of Joseph Nimmich to be Deputy Director of FEMA, the number of senior leadership vacancies at DHS has been significantly reduced.

The Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Government Affairs Committee held a hearing this week for recent nominees to fill two key positions: Russell Deyo to be Under Secretary for Management, and Sarah Saldaña to lead Immigration and Customs Enforcement. With the Senate now on recess, these nominations will be delayed from moving forward until after the November elections.

The nominations of Deyo and Saldaña means that only one Senate-confirmed position remains vacant and without a nominee in process: the Assistant Secretary for Policy position, which has been led in an acting capacity by Alan Bersin since May 2014.

A relevant non-DHS nominee who was also finally confirmed this week is Eric Rosenbach, who was nominated in December 2013 to be the new Assistant Secretary of Defense for Homeland Defense (ASD/HD), replacing Paul Stockton who left the position in early 2013.